Age Equality

What does equality really mean?

Equality is about ensuring all people, regardless of race, gender, age and physical ability, have access to the same rights, the same opportunities and are treated equally. It’s one of the most important cornerstones of democracy.
To be discriminated against is to have your access to equality denied or curtailed.

Age discrimination denies older people’s right to equality.

Currently, older people are routinely denied equality. This is most obvious when it comes to accessing effective medical care or social protection, but it also extends to employment: many, many older people would like to work but are discriminated against when applying for jobs.
International law requires governments to eliminate all forms of discrimination, including discrimination based on age.
But unlike sex, gender or race, age discrimination isn’t specifically listed in human rights instruments. As a result, age discrimination is rife and largely unchallenged; laws and policies differ from county to country and offer varying levels of protection and effectiveness.
Play video

It's time for action!

It is time to eliminate all forms of discrimination – including age discrimination.

What needs to change?

Our reportAdvancing equality for older people calls for two key legal shifts to end age discrimination:

  • Internationally – Older people’s rights must be formally recognised in a UN convention.
  • Nationally –  Governments must adopt comprehensive anti-discrimination laws that prohibit all discrimination, including age discrimination.

One in six of us will be aged 65 or older by 2050. Age discrimination will affect every single one of us so let’s work to end it, shall we?

Age Equality Report

Our report examines and compares the legal frameworks for prohibiting age discrimination in 12 countries from across the world, analysing them for consistency with international legal standards.
We identify the gaps, inconsistencies and barriers which prevent older people from realising their rights while highlighting good practices and promising developments.
The 12 focus countries are: Argentina (Spanish), FinlandIndia, Jordan (Arabic), KenyaSouth KoreaKyrgyzstan (Russian),  Paraguay (Spanish), Philippines, SerbiaTanzania and the United Kingdom.
The report summary is available in ArabicEnglishRussian and Spanish.

Subscribe to our newsletter